Thursday, April 23, 2009

Bittersweet Ending

I have never been to a more exciting game than the Blue Jackets playoff game tonight! The Jackets were down 1 to 3 after the first period. They came out the 2nd period and completely flipped a switch. They played and so much intensity, they scored 4 goals in that one period to tie the game at 5 to 5with so much drive at the end of the 2nd period. During the period, my throat became raw because of my insane screaming and my calves got a workout from all my jumping up and down. I never sat down the whole rest of the game. They were in it to win it.

Then with under 2 minutes left in the game, the refs made a ridiculous call for 'too many men on the ice'. It was a pretty iffy call, especially with the time left and the stakes of the game... but who am I to say, I'm a girl right? After the call, the game was delayed for about 5 minutes so they could clean off the ice because of the fans throwing beer cans, water bottles, and cups at the refs. You can only imagine the amount of boo-ing and obscene language being used. No one was more hated in Columbus than those refs at the game.

The Wings ended up scoring on the power play knocking the Jackets out of the playoffs. After the final buzzer, the crowd still cheered on, chanting "Let's Go Jackets" for a solid few minutes to congratulate them on there outstanding performance. After the teams shook hands, the Jackets stayed out on the ice and raised the sticks to thank all the fans. They were truly appreciative as the skated around the ice. If it wasn't for the refs call, in my opinion, I believe the Jackets could have very well won that game... But what are you going to do. There's always next year!

On a sad note, this will be (maybe) my last post on the Jackets for awhile... I know you all love my hockey insight ;-)

No comments:

Post a Comment